Amazing. Stuff. Stuph.

How Literature has Affected Me

Books Literature. In other words: Books. Yes, the word that some dread, but it is a word that I “cherish,” perhaps  more than the real world or the virtual, computer world of the modern era. The first book I actually remember reading other than my Bible Story book and the Bible itself, was With Lee in Virginiaby G.A. Henty. I was so excited, that I kept reading and reading. In fact, I would pronounce a bunch of words the way they sounded, like peasant as “peesant,” without feeling any remorse over the mispronunciation, until my family pounded into my head the correct way to say those words. The world was open before me, and I read all I could, even if I mispronounced a few words; so I probably don’t remember half of what I’ve read, whether important or childish. However, I will go briefly over a few books that have had the greatest impact on my life.

bible-sunset-2

First, the Bible. I have never read a book and will never read a book greater than the Bible. The incredible words, flowing from the mouth of God into the fingers of mortal men, has a powerful impact on me. It is the only book in the world that has all of its prophetic telling come true exactly as the it said it would. It is the only book that has shown me the “way, the truth, and the life.” I actually have a copy on every device and computer, as well as a few New Testaments and a complete Bible in my room and backpacks. Its an amazing book, the inspired Word of God. I’d recommend it to you over the words of any man or angel.

Second, The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History by Tom Woods. This is probably one of the most enlightening books I can remember reading about events that actually happened in American history and how they happened that they will never teach you in a public school. Another two books in the “historical” genre is The Annals of the World, by James Usher, which is the history of the world from Creation to the destruction of Jerusalem; and A Child’s History of England, by Charles Dickens. The reason why I have placed these books in second place is because, besides the Bible and all it has to say about history and politics, these books, especially the last two, show you how man has never changed, how the scum rise to the top, and, through uses of immense cruelty and bloodshed, rise to positions of wealth and power. Its shows me the great need for not only the changing of man’s hearts, but also the need to decentralize the civil government, so that these great blood-drinkers of history can’t have their opportunities as before.

funny the-lord-of-the-rings-the-felqlowship-of-the-ring-original

There are probably dozens more books I’ve read, everything from small, 50 page books, such as Bastiat’s book, The Law, to monster, 500 page books, like the Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien, or, less importantly, books on the Star Wars mythology, books on Greek Mythology, and the like. Hopefully, this has shown you some of my literary background; not as a boast, I could name of dozens of men and women who put me in the dust, including my own father; but so that you get a sense of what books have influenced me over the short time I’ve been alive. Thank you for reading!

4 responses

  1. rpcstudent

    Excellent essay! I think it’s wonderful that you mentioned the Bible as a book that impacted your life. God’s all-powerful Word is the Best Book. It may be that others will be encouraged by what you said about the Bible. You writing style and wording is great!

    November 18, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    • Well, I’m not where I want to be, but thanks! I’m working on it. I think you’ve got good stuff too! Lets keep it up! 🙂

      November 18, 2013 at 5:51 pm

      • Thanks! I too have a long way to go!

        November 18, 2013 at 6:51 pm

      • 🙂

        November 20, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

